Wish I was Drunk Wednesdays: Southern Throwback


I miss the South. I love California with all my heart, it is without a doubt where I am supposed to be, but….sometimes I just want to shoot whiskey, eat grits, listen to the Zac Brown Band and say y’all. Preferably all in the space of an hour; a sort of abbreviated southern smorgasbord.

So when I heard the ABC was premiering a show about Texas that looked and smelled like Desperate Housewives, I got out some liquor and said “Howdy Y’all” to GCB. Instead of shooting the whiskey, my best friend and I decided to be classy, with cocktails.

Sidenote: If you are a girl, rocking the cute and adorable thing but want to add some badass-ery to your life, make your new well drink whiskey and ginger ale. It’s delicious and unexpected (aka not rum and diet).

I’m not going to claim to have invented this drink. I feel like when it comes to food, there is little that hasn’t been attempted over the years. At the same time, I’ve never seen this cocktail on a menu.

I made a simple syrup with flavors from my baking background that I thought would pair well with whiskey; lemon, honey, molasses (it balances out the whiskey), rosemary. Then I tried not to make it too sweet (although if you need to get your so-rawr-ity girl on, just add more simple syrup. From one Panhellenic sister to another, it’s tasty and it’s whiskey, so you’re welcome).

So here’s the cocktail I invented to get you over the hump (Get it? It’s Wednesday! Haha!).

The Southern Throwback

Molasses Simple Syrup

-Combine 1/3 cup molasses, 2/3 cup honey, the juice of one lemon (don’t worry if some seeds get into the pot), 1 teaspoon of rosemary and 1 cup water in a pot over med high heat. Bring it to a boil for five minutes. Strain into a heat-safe container, let it cool at room temperature.

The Drink

-Into a cocktail shaker over ice (or just stirred in the glass if you’re ghetto like me) mix the juice of 1/2 a lemon, 1 shot whiskey, 1 shot simple syrup and 1/2 cup sparkling water.

I served it in a highball class with 3-5 ice cubes per glass.

Garnish with a slice of lemon and sprig of rosemary if you’re feeling classy. Gulp it down if you’re not.

This entry was posted in Food To Make and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wish I was Drunk Wednesdays: Southern Throwback

  1. Jenny Wood says:

    whiskey ginger ale ❀
    also we are making this when i get home

Leave a Reply

